The Catch-22 I Went Through

A few days ago I was walking on the service lane near my housing society where I saw something very helpless yet beautiful. Yes, you read it right, something helplessly beautiful. Something which was so clear and crisp about its definition that no one could raise a question. I saw a man with a mobile rotating swing which he would sometimes push or sometimes pull trough streets and lanes and small kids would sit on it to welcome their adrenaline rush. The man wore torn shoes through which his torn socks were visible, brown pant and striped colorful shirt. He carried a shadow beneath his eyes, his hands crossed with each other taking support his knees of his folded legs as he sat alone on that swing. His fingers seemed tired, tired of life. I did not fail to take a picture of this epic scene and upload it on social media, this is what we are immune to these days, we do not leave anything beautiful and sometimes we capture the earthy realities of life. His swing was painted red and white with cost of riding the swing in the middle which was rupees 20. The swing despite of being colored wore a blanket of hard luck and failure. The man was sitting on the swing, with no customers. It was evening, the day was going to end.IMG_2395

That moment, I was speechless; I asked myself “how much money he would have earned today?”, “is his earnings enough for his family?”, “will he even go to his house today?”, “is this his bad luck, or he is lucky enough?”. All such questions bombarded my head and when did I entered the lift of my building I did not know. I was silently standing in the lift when the silence of the lift broke my silence as no button was pressed and the fan also auto-stopped.

I reached my house in next 20 seconds.

I was worried about that person but there was nothing much I could do since life changing resources are still out of my reach. All I could do it wish well for him and his family and pray to that positive energy to burn all his problems. Then I realized that it was certainly a catch-22(1) for both him and me. Life was a beamer(2) for him and the whole scene was a beamer for me. For many its a chin music(3). I could not play my violin for the next few days as the thought troubled me. Then I realized that all this is the harsh truth. Life is always filled with problems till rim. Every door is at the end of a bottle neck. One should be confident and brave, hearty and humble and should continue his job, his work and fight hard for his or her desires. If the person with the swing would never sell his swing but work hard daily. He has no customers today but his worrying will not help him. His hard work will.

“If a problem is fixable, if a situation is such that you can do something about it, then there is no need to worry. If it’s not fixable, then there is no help in worrying. There is no benefit in worrying whatsoever.”

                            ― Dalai Lama XIV

So why do not fight today and kill the future regrets or cry on mistakes ( you call them mistakes because you are helpless and unsuccessful at the present) made in past?!.

Even if only few planes flew over his swing. The swing rotates faster than the plane’s speed in the endless sky.

Thank you, I hope you liked my view.

Definitions:

(1).a dilemma or difficult circumstance from which there is no escape because of mutually conflicting or dependent conditions.

(2)A ball that does not bounce (usually accidentally) and passes the batsman at or about head height. If aimed straight at the batsman by a fast bowler, this is a very dangerous delivery (and generally frowned on).

(3)idle chatter.

 

4 thoughts on “The Catch-22 I Went Through”

Leave a Reply

